Announcing Featured Host: Hollywood Superstar Anne Heche

(Vienna, VA, April 16, 2001)--- Celebrating its 50th Anniversary in 2001, American Women in Radio and Television (AWRT) is proud to announce a star-studded line-up of award presenters participating in the 26th Annual AWRT Gracie Allen Awards gala, emceed by actor, Anne Heche, on May 31st at the Plaza Hotel in New York City. The awards program brings together industry luminaries, broadcasting and cable professionals to celebrate and honor the outstanding achievements of their colleagues.

This year’s award presenters are comprised of nationally renown television hosts, news anchors, actors, producers and industry luminaries – from in front of and behind the cameras -- including: Roz Abrams, Anchor, WABC-TV; Debbie Allen, Actor/Producer; Darryl Brown, EVP, ABC Radio Networks; Dr. Joy Browne, WOR-Radio; Roberta Baskin, Senior Investigative Producer, 20/20; Peggy Charren, Founder, Action for Children’s Television; Sylvia Chase, Correspondent, Primetime Thursday, ABC News; Jane Clayson, Co-Anchor, The Early Show; Phyllis George, Pioneer in Sports Broadcasting; Lisagay Hamilton, Actor, The Practice; Cathy Hughes, Founded & Chairperson, Radio One; Geraldine Laybourne, Chairman & CEO, Oxygen Media; Kathy Levine, Program Host, Studios USA; Soledad O’Brien, Co-Anchor, Today-Weekend Edition; Jane Pauley, Anchor, Dateline NBC; Cristina Saralegui, Host, The Cristina Show; George Stephanopolous, Political Analyst, ABC News; Lynn Swan, Broadcaster & President, Swann, Inc.; Montel Williams, The Montel Show; and, Paula Zahn, Fox News Channel, Happy Birthday Husband Images

A total of 84 winners will be presented with awards that include 44 national winners and 40 local market winners. Winners were selected from hundreds of entries received in six main categories -- Outstanding Achievement by an Individual; Programming-- Entertainment; Programming--Information; News; Advertising/Public Service; and New Media – in both radio and television and more than 50 sub-categories. Nine Grand Awards will be presented during the evening gala.

AWRT’s Gracie Allen Awards are the foundation of AWRT’s endeavor which honors programming by women, for women and about women, as well as recognizing outstanding individual achievements. The Gracies strive to encourage the positive and realistic portrayal of women in entertainment, commercials, news features and other programming. The Awards are named after Gracie Allen, a pioneer in radio and television, who embodies the spirit of these awards.

To purchase tickets or for a complete list of award presenters for the AWRT’s 26th Annual Gracie Allen Awards, call AWRT at (703) 506-3290 or www.awrt.org<.

For Immediate Release: April 10, 2001
Contact: Frances Larose/Flarose@prmagic.com
Phone: (415) 546-9608 · Fax: (415) 546-0982